• rhein@heinlegal.com
  • Call Us: (314) 645-7900

 

English (en-GB)Spanish

2nd Offense DWI Lawyer in St. Louis, Missouri

Alcohol Convictions for DWI

(Statutory References: 302.302, 577.010, and 577.012, RSMo)

Second Offense DWI (Driving While Intoxicated)

Conviction of a second DWI within a five year period is a Class A misdemeanor.

JAIL: Up to a maximum of one year in jail.

FINE: Up to $1,000.00, plus court costs of between $10.00 and $200.00.

PROBATION: Only after a person has served a mandatory minimum of 48 hours of incarceration are they eligible for probation. The jail requirement may be waived in lieu of doing 10 hours of community service. The terms of probation are standard: no breaking the law, no drinking, no going to places where alcohol is served, attend SATOP, etc. Court ordered AA meetings, outpatient treatment, or inpatient treatment programs are also a possibility. Probation will often be for a one or two year period.

REVOCATION OF DRIVER'S LICENSE: A criminal conviction of a second time DWI within 5 years results in a five (5) year revocation of driving privileges. A hardship license may not be applied for until 2 of the 5 year revocation has been served. This suspension goes on the person's driving record. Twelve points are assessed against the driver's license regardless of how old the first DWI conviction was. The court must also require that a person be restricted to driving a motor vehicle which has an ignition interlock device while on probation. The device costs $50.00-$100.00 to install and $50.00-$75.00 per month to maintain.


We are Missouri lawyers in St. Louis who specialize in Second Offense DWI cases.  If you or someone you love are facing a DWI charge for the second time, please contact a Missouri DWI lawyer as soon as your arrest takes place.  Our Firm willfully investige your case before recommending any disposition.

Please note: We have not yet updated this site to include the 2010 changes to the DWI laws in Missouri.  We are in the process of drafting updated content for publication very shortly.  In any event, if you have been charged with a DWI, time is of the essence, and you should contact a Missouri DWI attorney immediately upon being arrested for DWI in order to know your rights and preserve them.

 

We are St. Louis DWI lawyers who can help you with your 2nd time Missouri DWI case.  Call us now for your FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION at 314-645-7900.

Twitter Feed

Newsletter Sign-up

Email address:

First Name:

Last Name:


**Your privacy is protected. Signing up to this newsletter does not constitute a client / attorney privilege.
Disclaimer: The Choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements. The Hein Law Firm provides the information in this web site for informational purposes only. The information does not constitute legal advice.
The use of this site does not create an attorney-client relationship. Further communication with our attorneys through the web site and/or e-mail may not be considered
as confidential or privileged. Please contact our attorneys if you wish to discuss in more detail the contents of this web site.